ASSIGNMENT 3 – My Response

  • …but for your next assignment I would like you to explore more.

I wish I could – I am trying to be more adventurous but finding an inherent stuckness over this some of the time.   Compiling a list of alternate materials to try out – the non-artistic type.

  • I think you have been pleasantly surprised by what you have managed to achieve in 1 hour, well done.

This part of the course has been the most challenging and the most surprising so far.  I loved doing the trees and my introduction to landscape was a revelation.   Had a much greater response to it than I had expected even though most of it was completed through the winter months when I could not hang around and “enjoy the view”.   It did however teach me skills for bringing back into the studio which is very useful.

  • It would have been better perhaps to work on a series of developed ideas taken from your initial studies to play around more with tone and depth as well as widen your drawing tools to push the edges once more of what drawing means to you.

These comments refer to some of the townscape work and the architectural studies which I found the most difficult.   The views of Shoreham-by-Sea over the river from different angles I did find interest and if the exercises had not been as specific there would have been views that I would much have preferred – over the river, mudflats, taking in the tide at different times etc.

Buildings I find difficult and my sense of perspective still goes out of the window – literally.  I could I admit have taken more time over them but in the end they are not my area of interest.

  • …. had you have used a sturdier paper

I have discovered good 300 gsm watercolour paper which bears a lot of work – although I have yet to push this too its limits.   Something which I need to undertake in the name of experiment.

It is very satisfying allowing water based materials to blend with the surface – and move them about – take them back when necessary. Just beginning to experiment with different supports.

  • Working in parallel will help you see where you are going wrong. Don’t fill in any detail until you have those measurements right.

Again referring to the buildings – a symptom of my irritation with the subject matter.

  • Again for me the tonal definition is lacking which makes the piece lacking in the overall lustre that I can see in the preliminary.

This comment has cropped up over the last few assignments.   I am still not making enough decisions about dark, medium and light as well as fore, middle and distance.  Again this is about becoming more critical and then being bold enough to express what I see.

  • More in depth critique and understanding of the work of others could benefit you in terms of extending and widening the research aspect of your studies.

As yet I am unsure how to address the research aspects of the work.   My note taking is not effective at this stage and I am going to revisit some of the early papers and HE Study assignments in order to apply order to this part of the work.

  • Try to see a range of exhibitions away from drawing and painting. This will help you consider your materials for drawing in closer detail. Think carefully about what drawing is and can be for your next assignment. Don’t always use traditional drawing materials to draw with…try lots of other things particularly things that surround you.

I have seen quite a number of non-traditional fine art work now.   Some of it I respond to really strongly and am aware that from my previous textile work it would be easy to lapse into 3D – textile pieces drawing me away from the focus of this course.

Again the reference to other materials is highlighted.   My list is growing of the non-traditional items some of which I have tried in the Part 4 assignment.

As to the question of what drawing is – I remain confused.   I have looked at the book Eight Propositions a number of times but this does not as yet make it any clearer.

  • …. in order for you to become more fluid in your approach to drawing.

Looking at other artists – in some cases I can see how this is relevant to development of a drawing style but in others I could not identify what my tutor was trying to have me see.   I drew on the styles of Degas, Auerbach, Dix and Schiele in the next Part 4 drawing.

  • Continue to take more risks with your drawing

Still not doing this enough and have not yet grasped a willingness to create the un-successful or non-traditional in my work.

When I look back I realise that I have often played too safe – —-

Leave a Reply

