Part 3 – Project 5 – Exercise 4 – Statues

The Juggler – Hove Town Hall

Juggler hove

Juggler sketch

Started by trying to get the perspective and proportions of the statue in balance and look at it in relation to the setting which is the back of the building of Hove Town Hall. It was difficult to capture the angles of the figure as well as the proportions that I thought I was seeing compared with the actual piece itself. There was more foreshortening drawing from this angle than I though there would be and despite trying to use the building as reference I found it quite difficult.

The Juggler 2

Interestingly for this second drawing I again decided to look at the statue in relation to its context which were the angles of the buildings surrounding it. Again trying to use these as reference points in the planning of the drawing it proved very difficult to draw what I was seeing as opposed to what I thought I saw.   This was particularly the case with the head of the figure which again and again I presumed to be larger than it was.

I could have spent more time on getting the colour values of the figure and the buildings more realistic but there is something about its “un-naturalness” that I like. Also I believe that the angles of the buildings and their windows add something to the composition.

The Garden Statue – after Cezanne

Cezanne cupid

Cezanne cupid painting

For some reason this painting and accompanying drawings by Cezanne have stuck in my mind.  Maybe it is because figures in Cezanne’s drawings are unusual even if it is a statue.

garden statue 1

My first attempt was using the usual charcoal/conte on watercolour paper.   This I think works to some extent in terms of rendering the surface quality of the concrete garden statue. Again it is tempting to draw what you expect to see and not the proportions looking down on the figure.

garden statue 2

This second drawing on blue pastel paper with a variety of media is more proportionally successful.   With more working the surface qualities could be achieved.

garden statue 3

I prefer this final drawing for many reasons.   The paper is some of the Indian handmade paper which in itself is interesting. Looking obliquely down at the figures is more dynamic than in the previous two drawings. Generally the mark making is also more dynamic and engaging with the figure itself rather than just “drawing” the figure. By that I think I mean that I am more successful at depicting the form.

Leave a Reply

