Part 3 -Project 5 – Exercise 3 – Limited Palette Study

project-5-exercise-3-limited-palette-study

Started by trying this limited pallet study with 4 coloured pencils.   However apart from the fact that the rig is leaning again I find it very uninspiring.   It appears flat and uninteresting to me. So rather than continue I moved on to the study below.

Project 5 exercise 3 limited palette study

In this study I tried to use just the traditional conte sticks and charcoal.   It is much more atmospheric and has a mood which related to the day, the weather and the time of year.  Again it is rather stark but of all the drawings I have done of the town I am most satisfied with this one.

If time and weather had permitted it would have been good to draw more of the extent of the view from the concertina drawings.

Learning:-

  1. With perseverance I can achieve something of the built environment but it seems this is only relevant to me when it is in relation to the natural environment too.
  2. I am going to revisit these views at different times of the year – when there is more colour I might find it more challenging and interesting.
  3. Unlike landscape these studies have been a struggle and not a revelation.

 

Leave a Reply

