Part 3 – Project 1 – Trees – Exercise 1

1-59

Without drawing the context for these trees it is quite difficult to sense how big or small they are.   The one above is quite squat and gnarled and when I drew it had lovely autumn foliage on it.  quite flowing….Just used my neocolor II crayons which are becoming a favourite with me.   They are so versatile especially when I am out drawing.

2-59

This is not a particularly attractive tree outside my front door.   It has the big carbuncles where branches have continuously been lopped off by the council. Here I was trying to see how little you could draw to get an impression of a tree and yet have character.

3-59

I don’t know what kind of tree this is but there are a lot of them in Worthing. Very large tree and here I have tried to give an impression of how large the spread of the foliage would be were it not winter.

4-49

This is an impression with inks of one of the large distinctive pines that are all the way down Grand Avenue – they must be at least 100 years old.   Very strong lines with the foliage clustered at the top of the tree.

It took me quite a long time to complete this exercise because I was looking for interesting trees and the more I looked the less satisfied I was with what I saw.   Most trees are fairly nondescript generally.  As you will see later I am interested in strong form and contrast.

Leave a Reply

